Press Releases

July 2, 2019
The Cape Town Press Club is excited to announce their newly elected 2019 committee.

Cape Town Press Club elects new committee

by | Jul 2, 2019 | Press Releases | 0 comments

At the 44th AGM of the Cape Town Press Club on 27 June, the following nominees received the most votes and were duly elected to the committee: Brent Meersman (chairperson), Thembela Ntongana (deputy chair), Donwald Pressly (deputy chair), Twanji Kalula, Beverley Houston, Sue Segar, Colleen Monaghan and Clive Keegan.

We also congratulate Karabo Mavuso, a 4th year journalism student, who received a bursary of R20,000 from the Cape Town Press Club’s Barry Streek Memorial Fund.

The AGM followed an insightful and edifying address by Press Ombudsman Pippa Green.

The Press Club is a non-profit, voluntary organisation established in 1975 to support the freedom of the press. It is the largest, most active and oldest press club in South Africa.

We provide a strictly non-partisan platform for headline-makers, public and newsworthy figures to speak to the media and our members. We hold over 40 functions a year. Our events have a unique quality ­– neither a press conference nor an expensive, closed function, they are an opportunity to meet noteworthy people in person, and our speakers always take questions from the floor.

We are committed to upholding ethical journalism in South Africa and the freedom of the press, supporting investigative journalism and stimulating public discussion.